Buskin At Stony Brook

Outstanding Campus Journalism

The Martin Buskin Award for Outstanding Campus Journalism

This Award for Campus Journalism is presented annually to a student journalist whose work demonstrates a commitment to excellence, leadership in campus journalism or impact on the campus community. The award, sponsored by Newsday, includes a cash prize presented at the annual Undergraduate Recognition Awards Ceremony and a place on the plaque honoring winners.

Buskin's widow, Saundra Buskin, is an ex-officio member of the award committee. Their daughter, Linda Tuccio-Koonz, an editor in Connecticut, now represents the Buskin family on the committee.

2012 Frank Posillico

2011 No winner

Cub Award Winner: Alessandra Malito

2010 Najib Aminy

Cub Award Winner: Frank Posillico

2009 April Warren

Cub Award Winner: Lauren Cioffi

2008 No winner

Cub Award Winner: Najib Aminy

2007 Dan House

Cub Award Winners: Tejas Gawade and Lynn Hsieh

2006 Radeyah Hack

Cub Award Winner: George Agathos

2005 Michael Nevradakis

2004 Emy Kuriakose

2003 No winner

2002 No winner

2001 Duane Bourne

2000 Jennifer Kester

1999 John Giuffo

1998 Michael Yeh

1997 David M. Ewalt

1996 Joseph Fraioli

1995 Thomas Masse

1994 Ary Rosenbaum

1993 Patricia Huang

1992 David Joachim

1991 Otto Strong

1990 Amelia Sheldon

1989 John Dunn

1988 Zachary Dowdy, Raymond Parish

1987 Mitchell Horowitz

1986 George Bidermann

1985 Elizabeth Wasserman

1984 Raymond Fazzi

1983 Gregory Scandaglia

1982 Scott Higham

1981 Benjamin Berry

1980 Edward Silver, Harry Goldhagen

1979 Richard Bergovoy

1978 Eric Keller

1977 David Gilman