Kristy Gerlett, Megan Miller earn Buskin Award honorable mentions

Kristy_300 Megan Miller_300
Kristy Gerlett Megan Miller


Kristy Gerlett and Megan Miller, both seniors in the Stony Brook School of Journalism, earned honorable mentions in the 2016 Martin Buskin Award for Campus Journalism competition.

This year’s winner was Arielle Martinez.

The Martin Buskin Award for Campus Journalism is presented to student journalists whose work demonstrates a commitment to excellence through leadership in campus journalism, outstanding work and/or impact on the Stony Brook community. It honors the memory of Martin Buskin, the late education editor of Newsday and adjunct professor of journalism at Stony Brook.

The Buskin Committee for Campus Journalism, which selects the winner, felt Gerlett, an aspiring producer who launched the school’s Newsbreak en Español, and Miller, a multimedia journalist, deserved special recognition for the quality of their work. They were recognized at the School of Journalism’s Majors Banquet on May 5.


Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

, , , ,

Comments are closed.