The Martin Buskin Awards for Campus Journalism are named in honor of the late education editor of Newsday and adjunct professor of journalism at Stony Brook, are presented annually to student journalists whose work demonstrates a commitment to excellence through leadership in campus journalism, outstanding work and/or impact on the Stony Brook community.

There is one overall award that comes with a $1,000 prize. It is open to juniors and seniors who have earned at least 57 credits and are in good academic standing. A Cub Journalist of the Year award comes with a $250 prize. Both awards are presented at the annual School of Journalism Majors’ Banquet in May.


Buskin winner: Josh Joseph


Buskin winner: Maya Brown


Brianne Ledda

Buskin winner: Brianne Ledda

Maya Brown

Cub Reporter: Maya Brown


Buskin winner: Michael Adams

Cub Reporter: Brianne Ledda



Buskin winner: Rebecca Liebson







Buskin winner: Michelle Karim




Buskin winner: Arielle Martinez







Buskin winner: Kelly Zegers

Arielle Martinez headshot

Cub Reporter: Arielle Martinez


Buskin winner: Deanna Del Ciello

Cub Reporter: Will Welch


Linpic_crop  Buskin winner: Nina Lin




Frank Posillico

2011 No winner

Alessandra Malito 2011 Cub Journalist: Alessandra Malito

2010 Najib Aminy

Cub Award Winner: Frank Posillico

2009 April Warren

Cub Award Winner: Lauren Cioffi

2008 No winner

Cub Award Winner: Najib Aminy

2007 Dan House

Cub Award Winners: Tejas Gawade and Lynn Hsieh

2006 Radeyah Hack

Cub Award Winner: George Agathos

2005 Michael Nevradakis

2004 Emy Kuriakose

2003 No winner

2002 No winner

2001 Duane Bourne

2000 Jennifer Kester

1999 John Giuffo

1998 Michael Yeh

1997 David M. Ewalt

1996 Joseph Fraioli

1995 Thomas Masse

1994 Ary Rosenbaum

1993 Patricia Huang

1992 David Joachim

1991 Otto Strong

1990 Amelia Sheldon

1989 John Dunn

1988 Zachary Dowdy, Raymond Parish

1987 Mitchell Horowitz

1986 George Bidermann

1985 Elizabeth Wasserman

1984 Raymond Fazzi

1983 Gregory Scandaglia

1982 Scott Higham

1981 Benjamin Berry

1980 Edward Silver, Harry Goldhagen

1979 Richard Bergovoy

1978 Eric Keller

1977 David Gilman